A Letter to the Broken Hearted 

Isaiah 41:10 

“fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” 

I’m not going to tell you that “you deserve better “or that “he was a jerk anyways”. Your pain is too great to condense your emotions into some vague insult to the person you probably still love. I’m not going to waste your time by romanticizing your heart ache into some Pinterest quote about moving on. 
Let’s be real. 

This sucks.  

“Did she just–”

Yeah. I did. This sucks. 

Let me first assure you, you are not alone. I know you’re probably red in the face, drowning in snot, nauseous, and the gaping emptiness inside your chest steals the breath from your lungs. (Hey, I’ve been there) This ends sweet friend. It does get easier. You’re totally allowed to hurt, to cry, to scream. You’re allowed to be angry and confused. A word of advice from someone who’s been there, pray

Ask God the hard questions until you’re blue in the face. Tell Him that you do not understand and you don’t like where you’re at until you fall asleep. Be angry. Make it known. He is your God, but He is also your Father. You are still His beloved daughter. He can handle that pressing questions. 

Matthew 11:28-30 

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

Another piece of advice, give it the three day rule. Usually by day 3 you don’t feel as emotionally unstable, have showered, and have had time to think. Do not talk to him for these three days. Give yourself some space.

It’s going to be difficult. But there are some Do’s and Don’ts that should save you some heartache. (I’ll link those somewhere in this post.)

You should know that there’s going to be a time where you think you’re okay and you’re finally finally “over it”. Then you’ll drive by an old date spot, find a picture, or hear them laugh and it will hit you in the stomach again. During these moments, it would be easy to reach out to him. You will want to. But don’t. Breathe in, and keep moving forward. 

Isaiah 43:18 

“Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old”

On a positive note, there’s healing in Jesus. Over time these things will pass away, some time from now you’ll find yourself feeling like yourself again. Your heart won’t feel heavy & you’ll go weeks without contemplating your past relationship. 

You have something to look forward to precious sister. Adventure. There’s so many new things, people, and places for you to experience outside of your past relationship. There’s beauty in the unknown. There’s excitement in experiencing a new season of life. 

Romans 8:28

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”

You may not feel this now, and that’s okay. Take your time. Breathe, because you’re going to be okay. God still hears you, your friends still love you, and you are still complete. 

There is still life to be lived beyond your heart break. Rest in this my friends ❤️

~S 

Psalms 147:3 
“He heals the broken-hearted, and binds up their wounds.”

Leave a comment